FANDOM


Semi Final 1 Edit

Ireland Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Ireland Ireland Scozcp291 Honestly? I love this song from pxseas. It's mysterious and catchy from first listen. I would be willing to say that it is his best by far in the three years that he's been competing in RoEsc, however I am curious to see how he will pull this off with the staging we have this year. It's a strong contender for me and I want to see this in the final for sure". 9.5/10
ValyrianTyrell Ireland is making the comeback in RoEurovision which we've all been waiting for. This time around it is pxseas’ turn to represent the nation with the song ‘Pray’, an R&B banger that is sure to get the attention when opening the long awaited 24th contest. This song is write down my alley – it’s full of energy, and everyone knows I’m more into bops rather than ballads. The verses strangely enough are my favourite part of the song. With great staging and a captivating performance from pxseas, this should sail through to the Final and at the very least hit the top 10 out of the 23 finalists." 10/10
Vecu "After a few songs that I can say that I honestly didn't like, this song absolutely makes the past dislikings a blur. There's something compelling about this entry in a dark way that draws me in, wanting to listen more. Once the chorus hits, I'm sold; with it's dark synths and belting notes, this is for sure an obvious dark horse." 9.5/10
Average: 9.7/10

Spain Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Spain Spain Scozcp291 I mean, the last time Lewis sent a song like this, he hit fifth place in the final. I do not believe this song will be any exception! With that said, it's a cute song that I love (sure, it's not Ellies best) that doesnt even require a proper chorus! A very beautiful song that I see qualifying easily! Good effort! 11.5/10
ValyrianTyrell I’ve never been that fond of TwentyOneThrones’ entries in RoEurovision, and once again this is no exception. When I first heard that he would be sending in a song by a more contemporary, pop artist, I was relatively excited, until I heard it was Ellie Goulding. I’m no fan of her music, so for me this just doesn’t work. The song is boring, and while I’m glad people are sending in ballads too, this just doesn’t work. It doesn’t help that he’s performing on the cursed running order number as well as being directly after one of the strongest entries this contest. However, this could still be a borderline qualifier. 2.5/10
Vecu The opening to the song is very sweet, and It's very easy to listen and relax to. However, there's one major issue; it does not progress at all throughout the song. It's like as if I'm listening to the first verse on repeat over and over again, therefore I couldn't even finish through the song with being interested sadly. Counting all of the stronger and more ballad-y songs within the first semi final, this one will easily be washed away by the surrounding more interesting songs. 6/10
Average: 5/10

Russia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Russia Russia Scozcp291 I think this song is interesting to say the least, I like it personally but I see it getting swamped being in the stronger semi-final. Needless to say, the song itself is one of the best non-English songs in the contest currently and it stands really well compared to many other songs. 7.5/10
ValyrianTyrell I’m never usually a fan of the non-English songs in RoEurovision, but for once the non-English songs in the contest are good. While I do prefer Albania’s entry, Russia’s is also decent – however is it good enough? Personally, I don’t think so. The running order has probably sabotaged its chances and will likely become forgettable by the end of the show, not to mention it’s somewhat bland. Its only hope is that fans of these song genres walk in and award it points, otherwise I think it will narrowly miss out qualifying to the grand final. 6/10
Vecu Okay, I get it. A lot of people will not like this song as it's apparent that it's non English and also not very much a ballad. Besides the disliking, I actually like the song personally, as I love slower songs and non English especially. Also, it has an extremely strong dark atmosphere to the song, which I live for. Although I absolutely love it, I do have doubts about it's placing in the semi finals, as it's obviously not everyone's cup of tea. 9/10
Average: 7.5/10

Greece Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Greece Greece Scozcp291 For a debut, Alexandra1girl has got a VERY strong entry. Demy's vocals work really well and it is extremely contagious and it isn't your typical pop song. However, for a new player I am eager to see what Alexandra will do for her staging and how she will deliver the song to the audience, I see it going through to the final regardless. 8.5/10
ValyrianTyrell I just know for a fact this song will be criminally underrated in this contest. Alexandra sends in an absolute bop from Demy (and is, in my opinion, equally as good as This Is Love) and I loved it on my first listen. It gets you dancing and singing along with it, which is the sort of atmosphere we need in the arena, and I could listen to it again and again. Maybe I’ll even get it on Spotify, who knows! Its running order is rather good as well, so all I can hope now is that it has good staging. I truly hope this isn’t robbed. 10/10
Vecu Queen Demy is in the RESC?! I've never thought i'd see this day come! I'm pretty happy that not just Demy is in, but that she's taking one of her best songs yet with her to the contest. The song itself is super positive yet light and airy at the same time, which is definitely a good mix for a 'good vibe' song. Props to you Alexandra, good job on choosing this. 9.5/10
Average: 9.3/10

Romania Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Romania Romania Scozcp291 TAYANNA WAS ROBBED, enough said. In all seriousness, I love the entire atmosphere of this song, the artist conveys so much emotion in the national final performance plus not to mention it builds up extremely well and it works. However, can Eliza make it work with the staging in the arena? If anything, I see this song dancing around 11th-5th in the final. 8.5/10
ValyrianTyrell This is probably one of the entries I have predicted as winning the contest. “I Love You” is a solid power ballad, and is a brilliant entry for SoulEliza’s first participation in this group. I really like the song – however, it took me a few listens to get used to it, and the verses are bland, so the key ingredient in this song is the chorus itself, which is captivating and engaging. SoulEliza really needs to give of a fantastic performance, and she could easily secure herself the crown. Perhaps even on a few more listens, I’ll fall in love with the song even more. But for now, all I’m saying is, it’s top 5 material. 9.5/10
Vecu As everyone probably knows by now, I'm a sucker for ballads that take it to the extreme, and this qualifies as one of the extreme ballads to me. For a debutee in the RoESC, I'm pleased that Eliza had sent one of the most robbed national final songs in the whole 2017 ESC season to the contest. This is definitely a winner in my opinion, and hopefully it won't be underrated just because of it's over usage in other contests similar to this one. 10/10
Average: 9.3/10

Georgia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Georgia Georgia Scozcp291 Personally, I preferred 'I Shall Rise' but this isn't bad either. I have no idea what genre to put this song into as it's unique in its own right. The chorus is amazing and makes you want to dance. But the verses? Meh, I've heard worse. A good effort from Pwnzer, but not his best entry. I see it being borderline in both the Semis and the Final. Good Effort! 7/10
ValyrianTyrell I’d only just listened to Pwnzer94’s song for the first time as I write this review, so please bear with my lack of knowledge on it. “Overdose” works because it’s different and stands out among the other entries, however, I was so confused on my first listen because I didn’t know whether I liked it or hated it. Now, I have made my mind up: this is a catchy, solid entry, and it will stand out so well in the running order. I will admit I really don’t like the guy’s voice, but the tune in the chorus is so fun and I love it. While it’s not Pwnzer94’s best entry in his RoEurovision history, this will surely cope well in the first semi-final. 7.5/10
Vecu From a winner of the previous edition, Pwnzer is back with a less-than-average song in my opinion. Nothing about this song stands out to me, even at the slightest degree. It's pretty basic, and I'm not gonna lie; It's probably going to qualify anyways because of the fact that it's Pwnzer. I just wish he sent a song to actually match his status, not a below average boring song that'll do good 'just because'. 5.5/10
Average: 6.7/10

Switzerland Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Switzerland Switzerland Scozcp291 No shock, we have another Loreen song! But it's not Statements, woo! In all seriousness, I remember hearing it during the 2013 final and I always saw it as one of Loreen's best songs. What I like about it is that it is basically an empowering anthem that you would probably hear on the radio in Europe. It definitely has the power to qualify for the final. 7/10
ValyrianTyrell When I saw that ToxiccEnvy was sending in a Loreen song, I was really excited, because I absolutely love Loreen’s music and "Statements" is one of my all-time favourite songs in the euro-pop genre. “We Got the Power” is a brilliant dance-pop entry that will do very well closing the first half of the semi-final. It certainly isn’t Loreen’s best song (“Statements” and “Euphoria” are better, in my opinion) but it’s still one of the best songs in the contest. The more I listen to it, the better it gets, so by the time the contest begins this could easily be in my top 3. 9.5/10
Vecu ToxiccEnvy sending a Loreen song? Wow, that's absolutely shocking..! Only issue, the Loreen song this edition is probably 10 times less energetic, unique and interesting than the Loreen song he sent to my own RESC in the most recent edition. Hate to compare, but you can't avoid it if you send 10 songs of the same exact artist over and over again. Otherwise, it's nothing really special, besides an as usual Loreen empowering song. 7.5/10
Average: 8/10

United Kingdom Edit

Country Reviewer Review
UnitedKingdom United Kingdom Scozcp291 I really like this song from Ted, it is a song that you would probably listen to over and over. However, I do not think this song really stands out among the other stronger entries in this semi and I hate to say this; but there's a chance it could miss out on the final. Which would be a shame, but it is in a semi full of potential winners. 7/10
ValyrianTyrell I love the UK’s song! It’s cute, fun and something I’d listen to on Spotify. TedTheToffee’s first participation (from what I recall?) is a solid attempt, but I do doubt its chances of qualifying for a number of reasons; Ted isn’t a well-known member, the song might get swallowed by the better songs, and strangely, the UK never does well in RoEurovision. However, I will be voting this song because it’s super catchy and deserves to qualify over so many of the other overrated, weak songs in this semi-final. 8.5/10
Vecu Gonna say this flat out to Ted, YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS. Gonna keep this review plain and simple, like the song; There's literally nothing that compells me to continue listening, therefore I don't think this deserves an outstanding place. 6.5/10
Average: 7.3/10

Belgium Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Belgium Belgium Scozcp291 I was obsessed with this song from when it first entered the charts in September/October 2016 in the UK and frankly I'm not sure what to make of it being sent in. I mean, I love the song and all but I feel like it's one of those songs that you eventually get sick of and you avoid whenever it comes on Spotify after about 50 listens. I love Christine’s voice and the little segment in French but overall it's a good song. 7/10
ValyrianTyrell This bothers me just like with Switzerland’s entry, but I’m getting tired of contestants being lazy and sending in the exact same song into numerous RoEurovision groups. “Tilted” is a unique song which I used to love, however it’s been out for around a year and I’m sick of it. My main issue with Belgium’s entry, however, is like I said: it’s pure laziness. I don’t see why I should vote for this song when others have worked harder in actually finding a good entry to send into the contest. This will be borderline, so it will either narrowly make it to the final, or miss out and get swallowed by the better entries. Hopefully the latter. 4.5/10
Vecu And finally, can we get this song an award for the 'Most Original Entry of 24' ? Although it's no big ballad or huge track, it's simplistic to the point where it's art. Do I think it's going to qualify; No, However it absolutely deserves to. The only boundary from this getting a good place is participants who vote for basic, upbeat songs rather than original songs such as this. 9.5/10
Average: 7/10

Iceland Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Iceland Iceland Scozcp291 Jess Glynne definitely has an amazing voice and I'm so glad somebody is finally sending in this song as opposed to something like 'Real Love' or 'Rather Be' as it puts her vocals in the spotlight. It is definitely one of the most powerful songs in this Semi and it could produce a really good result for SAARobbedGoddess. With that being said, he has to be careful with how he conveys this song onto the stage in Rome as he doesn't want to go overboard with it. Good luck Iceland! 8.5/10
ValyrianTyrell I’m going to keep this short and sweet: I love this. Prior to the contest, I’m going to be honest; I wasn’t that fond of the song, but when the songs started coming in and they were all weak, Iceland’s stood out and since then it has developed into a song I love. It works because, out of the ballads we have this contest, this is by far the best one, and coming from newcomer SAARobbedGoddess, a veteran in our community, this fully deserves to do well. I just hope they give us a fantastic performance as well and then it might even be guaranteed top 5 in the final, who knows! 10/10
Vecu Okay, can we get this song an award too? The 'Song that attempts to be emotional but ends up giving no emotion' award? I'm sorry, but this song does absolutely nothing for me, hence why I can't write an in-depth review about it. I'm sure others will love it, but I don't feel a single emotion from the song. 5.5/10
Average: 8/10

Slovakia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Slovakia Slovakia Scozcp291 I mean, I'm going to try and not be biased having heard it a million times on the radio. But I personally would put it on the lower half of my tops list for this Semi Final. It doesn't stand out to me, to put in the most blunt way possible. But good luck Feyros! 6.5/10
ValyrianTyrell I’m not going to lie…. For ages, I despised this song. However, strangely enough, I don’t mind it anymore? Perhaps it’s because it is no longer being overplayed and I can actually enjoy the song for what it is. Nevertheless, Feyros can do better. “Human” is one of the most generic, mainstream songs in the contest, and while I love mainstream music, this crosses the line just a tad. No matter what kind of performance Feyros gives, this will either do brilliant in the semi-final or become a car crash and come near last. 5.5/10
Vecu This isn't Feyros in my opinion. I know the Feyros that sends unique and original songs that are bops at the same time, even sometimes in different languages! This however, is just an overplayed mess that has been sent to numerous contests like this one. I mean yeah, it's an ok song and I listen to it a lot, because it's simply okay! Music like this however just should stay on the radio and in our playlists, not in a music contest. 6.5/10
Average: 6.2/10

Finland Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Finland Finland Scozcp291 May or may not be an unpopular opinion, but I personally don't mind this song or I might go as far as to say I really like this song. I feel like the chorus really lifts the song up and the verses are okay. As I've said a million times this Semi Final already, it doesn't exactly stick out in the way other songs do and I don't see it doing that in it's running order. Could be a borderline entry 7.5/10
ValyrianTyrell Finland’s entry “This Ain’t Me” is definitely one of the better mainstream songs this contest. I’m not a fan of Selena Gomez, but this song is catchy enough and works to my taste. It’s contemporary, tropical… and tropical house is a genre I LOVE, it’s so underrated, as is the artist Kygo themselves. I don’t know how this will cope in the semi-final; I think it will qualify, but out of the 9 finalist spots, I think this will be in the 6th-9th region, unless MargaretteWaldorf gives us an amazing performance. 8/10
Vecu This is such a shame to write, because Margarette is one of my closest friends in the community, and also because she sends amazing music. This is probably the first time I'd say this, but I'm not at all impressed with her entry. I don't really even like the song outside of the contest, so why would I dare give a good review on it inside of the contest. I wish she sent something more interesting than a Selena song, I guess my expectations were set a notch too high this time. 7/10
Average: 7.5/10

Norway Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Norway Norway Scozcp291 This song is very strange and I'm not sure what to really make of it? Dias music choices for the ESC community can either be a blessing or a curse for him, and for once this is middle ground for me. It has a strange style that I can't help but listen to once or twice more but again, I see it getting caught up on the borderline as it may not appeal to everyone. 7/10
ValyrianTyrell Norway’s entry “Wild Horses” is…. Good, at most. On first listen, I’ll admit I skipped the song after 30 seconds. However, on multiple listens, it has growing on me, but it still suffers being in the stronger semi-final. The chorus is relatively strong, but the verses are undeniably weak, and once you reach the second verse, you find yourself wanting the song to end due to its lack of energy and its repetitiveness. I personally wouldn’t have this down as one of my qualifiers, but I think it could be a borderline qualifier. 6.5/10
Vecu One in a million opinion here!! But anyways, I love Bishop so much, so it put a smile on my face realizing that Dia sent her to the 24th edition. Although 'Wild Horses' isn't my favorite Bishop song, it's definitely a song that I listen to daily, and will continue to do so. I really don't care that this isn't many people's cup of tea; since it doesn't have extreme notes and etc., but I actually would love to see this in the #24 Final, maybe even placing in the top 10 for my liking :)? 9/10
Average: 7.5/10

Israel Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Israel Israel Scozcp291 I mean, I love Sam Smith and I love this song. But this is not a song that I would typically send to or vote for in RoESC as it's fit for one purpose and that one purpose only and that's to be the theme for a James Bond film. But, as mentioned previously it is a powerful entry from Israel but to be honest, there are more worthy entries of hitting the final. May be an unextremely popular opinion. 5/10
ValyrianTyrell What I love about Israel’s song, “Writings on the Wall”, is that it is the kind of song that would close of a RoEurovision or ESC contest. However, I can see this suffering badly in this semi-final. JakeGeorges isn’t one of the most successful players in the community, so he’s going to be at a disadvantage here. I always love the Bond theme songs, but I know people will not warm to this due to it being mainstream and annoying. It is a shame because, if this song was performed by a RoEurovision veteran, it’s obvious it would be an instant qualifier. However, since there are around 4-5 entries I’m not so fond of in this semi-final, Israel would probably be down as one of my qualifiers. Nevertheless, I see this ranking very low in the televote. 7/10
Vecu Well then, and I thought YellowRxspberry was the most basic player, I guess a lucky someone beat her! But seriously, a Sam Smith song does not belong here, not to be rude; simply being truthful. I have a feeling that it'll definitely- almost positively get overrated due to the singer and song's popularity. On the other hand however, the 1st semi is 100% without a doubt stronger than the 2nd semi, so I have hopeful doubts of it not qualifying. 4.5/10
Average: 5.5/10

Semi Final 2 Edit

Denmark Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Denmark "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Albania Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Albania "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Azerbaijan Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Azerbaijan "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

The Netherlands Edit

Country Reviewer Review
The Netherlands "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Portugal Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Portugal "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Poland Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Poland "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Hungary Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Hungary "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Latvia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Latvia "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Malta Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Malta "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Germany Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Germany "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Serbia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Serbia "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

France Edit

Country Reviewer Review
France "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Croatia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Croatia "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Sweden Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Sweden "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Grand Final Edit

Country Reviewer Review
"" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Slovenia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Slovenia "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Monaco Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Monaco "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Italy Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Italy "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

San Marino Edit

Country Reviewer Review
San Marino "" -/10
"" -/10.
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Estonia Edit

Country Reviewer Review
Estonia "" -/10
"" -/10
"" -/10
Average: -/10

Edit

Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.